2016 Stoker Award Nominees Announced



Each major genre seems to have its “go-to” award – the “best of ” standard for fans. Science fiction fans can look to the Hugos, awarded by the World Science Fiction Society and Mystery readers have the Edgars, presented by the Mystery Writers of America.

While these genre awards have been around since the mid 1950’s (1953 for the Hugos and 1954 for the Edgars), the Bram Stoker Awards for Horror titles is a relative youngster. The Stokers were first given out in 1988 three years after the founding of their sponsor organization, the Horror Writers of America.

StokerCon.pngFrom their founding, the Stokers were awarded at a presentation held in conjunction with the World Horror Convention. This year, the Horror Writers of America is holding its own inaugural convention event. StokerCon 2016 will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada. May 12 through the 15th.

Why did the HWA decide to stike out on their own this year? Via email,  HWA President Lisa Morton stated that increasing HWA membership provides the HWA the wherewithal and people-power required for a solo convention, which had long been a goal of many convention. Added Morton,”We agreed with our members that it was time for us to take the reins on our own yearly event” allowing customized programming and events at StokerCon “to more closely represent the HWA’s mission and goals.”

While the Stoker Awards are the highlight of StokerCon,  other awards will be given out, including awards for Specialty Press, Mentor of the Year, and the already announced winners of the Lifetime Acievement Awards George A. Romero and Alan Moore. The “Lucky Th1rt3en Horror Short Film Competition” will feature works from England, Spain, Germany, and the United States.

Stoker Award

The Bram Stoker Award, sculpted by Steven Kirk. Inside the tiny creepy door: a bronze plaque .

The 2016 Bram Stoker Awards will be presented Saturday, May 14 at the Flamingo Hotel in Las Vegas; the award ceremony will also be available via online streaming.

2016 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot Nominees

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Clive Barker – The Scarlet Gospels (St. Martin’s Press)

Michaelbrent Collings – The Deep (self-published)

JG Faherty – The Cure (Samhain Publishing)

Patrick Freivald – Black Tide (JournalStone Publishing)

Paul Tremblay – A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow)


Superior Achievement in a First Novel

Courtney Alameda – Shutter (Feiwel & Friends)

Nicole Cushing – Mr. Suicide (Word Horde)

Brian Kirk – We Are Monsters (Samhain Publishing)

John McIlveen – Hannahwhere (Crossroad Press)

John Claude Smith – Riding the Centipede (Omnium Gatherum)


 Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

Jennifer Brozek – Never Let Me Sleep (Permuted Press)

Michaelbrent Collings – The Ridealong (self-published)

John Dixon – Devil’s Pocket (Simon & Schuster)

Tonya Hurley – Hallowed (Simon & Schuster)

Maureen Johnson – The Shadow Cabinet (Penguin)

Ian Welke – End Times at Ridgemont High (Omnium Gatherum)


 Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Cullen Bunn – Harrow County, Vol. 1: Countless Haints (Dark Horse Comics)

Victor Gischler – Hellbound (Dark Horse Books)

Robert Kirkman – Outcast, Vol. 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him (Image Comics)

Scott Snyder – Wytches, Vol. 1 (Image Comics)

Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman (editors) – Shadow Show:   Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury (IDW Publishing)


 Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

Gary A. Braunbeck – Paper Cuts (Seize the Night) (Gallery Books)

Lisa Mannetti – The Box Jumper (Smart Rhino Publications)

Norman Partridge – Special Collections (The Library of the Dead) (Written Backwards)

Mercedes M. Yardley – Little Dead Red (Grimm Mistresses) (Ragnarok Publications)

Scott Edelman – Becoming Invisible, Becoming Seen (Dark Discoveries #30)


Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

Kate Jonez – “All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck” (Black Static #47)

Gene O’Neill – “The Algernon Effect” (White Noise Press)

John Palisano – “Happy Joe’s Rest Stop (18 Wheels of Horror)” (Big Time Books)

Damien Angelica Walters – “Sing Me Your Scars (Sing Me Your Scars)” (Apex Publications)

Alyssa Wong – “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” (Nightmare Magazine #37)


Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

Guillermo del Toro & Matthew Robbins – Crimson Peak (Legendary Pictures)

John Logan – Penny Dreadful: “And Hell Itself My Only Foe” (Showtime)

John Logan – Penny Dreadful: “Nightcomers” (Showtime)

David Robert Mitchell – It Follows (Northern Lights Films)

Taika Waititi & Jemaine Clement – What We Do in the Shadows (Unison Films)


Superior Achievement in an Anthology

Michael Bailey – The Library of the Dead (Written Backwards)

Ellen Datlow – The Doll Collection: Seventeen Brand-New Tales of Dolls (Tor Books)

Christopher Golden – Seize the Night (Gallery Books)

Nancy Kilpatrick and Caro Soles – nEvermore! (Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)

Jonathan Maberry – The X-Files: Trust No One (IDW Publishing)

Joseph Nassise and Del Howison – Midian Unmade (Tor Books)


 Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

Gary A. Braunbeck – Halfway Down the Stairs (JournalStone Publishing)

Nicole Cushing – The Mirrors (Cycatrix Press)

Taylor Grant – The Dark at the End of the Tunnel (Cemetery Dance Publications)

Gene O’Neill – The Hitchhiking Effect (Dark Renaissance Books)

Lucy A. Snyder – While the Black Stars Burn (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

Justin Everett and Jeffrey H. Shanks (ed.) – The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales: The Evolution  of Modern Fantasy and Horror (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers)

Stephen Jones – The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)

Michael Knost – Author’s Guide to Marketing with Teeth (Seventh Star Press)

Joe Mynhardt & Emma Audsley (editors) – Horror 201: The Silver Scream (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Danel Olson – Studies in the Horror Film: Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining (Centipede Press)


Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

Bruce Boston – Resonance Dark and Light (Eldritch Press)

Alessandro Manzetti – Eden Underground (Crystal Lake Publishing)

Ann Schwader – Dark Energies (P’rea Press)

Marge Simon – Naughty Ladies (Eldritch Press)

Stephanie M. Wytovich – An Exorcism of Angels (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


(Stoker Award and Stoker Con Images – Courtesy Horror Writers of America)

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Awards, Books, Conventions & Events, Movies, News
%d bloggers like this: